Domino Effect: Cowboys Announce Several Roster Moves As Season Opener Approaches

The Cowboys are taking the necessary steps to determine their 53-man roster as the season opener is now less than two weeks away. Each NFL team is required to trim their roster down to 75 players by August 30 at 3:00 p.m. CST.

It’s that time of year. The Cowboys started a few days early, though, by putting cornerback Josh Thomas on injured reserve while cornerback Jeremiah McKinnon and linebacker James Morris were waived injured.

Just minutes prior to the 75-man deadline, the Cowboys announced the following roster moves:

  1. Hanna, James (TE) : Reserve/PUP
  2. Moore, Kellen (QB): Reserve/IR
  3. Smith, Jaylon (LB): Reserve/NFI
  4. Mullaney, Richard (WR): Waived
  5. Colquhoun, Arjen (CB): Waived/Injured
  6. Smith, Rodney (WR): Waived
  7. Muamba, Henoc (LB): Waived/Injured
  8. Buccholz, Dan (C): Waived
  9. McQueen, Mike (OG): Waived

Although the most disappointing move is certainly tight end James Hanna starting the season off on the Physically Unable to Perform list due to a lingering knee issue, there do not seem to be any noticeable surprises.

Teams are required to be at (or under) the 53-man roster limit by 3:00 p.m. CST on September 3, and can begin to sign/announce their 10 player practice squad starting on September 4.

Do not expect the roster churning to slow down any time soon, as the Cowboys hold the number four spot in the waiver wire order, where they’re able to claim any waived players from other teams who have less than four years of experience in the league.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s